That was the week that was

Well, where do I start?

Firstly, I’ve passed my 2nd year which is great! I didn’t do particularly well at Spanish though, which means I’m going to have to work hard while I’m in Germany to boost my grade, which is probably going to be easier than I expected because…

I’ve finally been allocated my schools for next year, in Leipzig! Leipzig! I actually can’t believe I’ve been sent somewhere so beautiful! (see my previous post when I was allocated Sachsen). I’ll be sharing my time equally between Mittelschule (Middle School) Portitz in the suburbs and Freie Mittelschule Dr. P. Rahn & Partner which is a bit more like an independent school in the city centre. Watch this space as I find out more about how the year is going to pan out. I’ve already started looking at some Wohngemeinschaften (flat shares) and I can barely contain my excitement about being in probably the best place I could have hoped to have been put in Sachsen. Ahhhh!

The reason it’ll be easy to carry on Spanish is because I can enrol at the University (with alumni such as Goethe) on one of their language courses. I was expecting to be put in the middle of nowhere where it would be difficult to make any progress but I literally can’t have been sent to a better place.

The other great thing about it is I’ll be quite close to a few of my friends from Warwick, and also the amazing Janina Boltze who was my German assistant at school and goes to uni in Magdeburg. She’s also been instrumental in the past few days at helping me write my introductory emails to my schools; if there’s ever a piece of German I write that has to be absolutely perfect, this is the one, and it seems I’ve got a lot of work to do on my language skills this year!

This week also marked the end of second year, which meant moving out of my beloved 7 Northway. I’m really going to miss it and all the people in it, even if during the winter months it was thoroughly miserable and the landlord is a bit of a pain in the rear end. It’s all starting to feel scarily real now, but it’s time to say goodbye to the fantastic life I’ve had at uni for the last two years and start the next chapter, which I know is going to be every bit as good, and will probably even surpass, the last. Bring it on!

My trusty house for the last 12 months that I left for good this week.

My trusty house for the last 12 months that I left for good this week.

Watching the sunset for the final time as a resident of Leamington Spa, reflecting on the adventures to come.

Watching the sunset for the final time as a resident of Leamington Spa, reflecting on the adventures to come.

 

Leave a Reply

