Veeeeeeeronika, der Lenz ist da!

The past few weeks have certainly been a bit of a whirlwind! After the end of my project week, I headed straight for the airport for my 2 week, 5 city tour. It was the last time I’d have 2 weeks off before the end of the year, so I figured I’d make the most of it! As I write this spring has most definitely sprung, which is lovely given the rather cold weather Leipzig has been having as of late! You can watch the song the title refers to at the bottom of the post. So, down to business!

First Stop: Paris (isn’t this a nice little church! Oh wait, it’s the Sacre Coeur!)

I met Vicky at Tegel airport where we headed for the city of love to meet up with the rest of our little group from university. It was the first time we’d all been together since July so we were all very excited! After some free wine on the plane…

These things are there to be taken advantage of!

These things are there to be taken advantage of!

…we arrived in high spirits and checked into our hostel. While waiting for the rest of the group to arrive, me, Vicky and Marie decided to go for a little walkabout and stumbled across the Sacre Coeur. Being the exemplary tourists that we are, none of us had a clue what on earth it was until we came across the mass of tourists at the front! Touristy stuff was the order of the weekend from that point on, so I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

Second stop: Marburg (“who, me?” “You’re the only other person in the room!”)

Despite being absolutely loaded with a cold by this point, I ploughed onwards to Marburg with Tom. It’s a lot smaller than Leipzig but it has bucket loads of character; a lot of the city centre, including Tom’s flat, was hundreds of years old and had a very quaint feel about it. Quite a nice contrast from the world city we’d been in that weekend then:

Third stop: Frankfurt

Given that I was flying home from Frankfurt and it isn’t very far from Marburg, we decided to make a day trip there. Frankfurt, being a global financial centre, was perhaps unsurprisingly the least German city I’ve been to so far this year. Despite it being full of skyscrapers, the old town (presumably the bit that didn’t get bombed/cleared for development) was quite nice and all in all, it was a nice way to waste a few hours before my flight!

Fourth/Fifth Stop: Home/Leamington

Having been insanely busy since Christmas, a trip home was more than welcome! Despite getting hideously, hideously drunk with some of the family (and paying the price the day after!) a good time was had. I also decided to go back to Leamington and see some of my uni friends not on their year abroad, and I have to admit that it was a rather odd experience! It really brought home quite how much has changed in the past 7 months or so, and also that the serious business of final year is looming. Despite being an absolutely fantastic experience, this year I live in a bit of a fantasy world; I work a stupidly small amount, with essentially no responsibility, for a not too bad amount of money. From what I gathered while I was back at uni last week, final year isn’t quite so rosy! Note to self: enjoy every last second while you can before it’s over!

Back on my old stomping ground.

Back on my old stomping ground.

This post has gone on for way too long, so I’ll post about Amsterdam another time. Until then, mach’s gut!

(Here’s the video. “Veronika, der Lenz ist da” means “Veronica, spring has arrived!”)

One thought on “Veeeeeeeronika, der Lenz ist da!

  1. Couldn’t agree more. “Enjoy every last second while you can.” It’s great to see how much you got out of your year abroad.

    There is a brilliant feature film about the story of the Comedian Harmonists. It’s all in German but worth downloading if you can find it.

    Good luck with the final year and whatever follows

Leave a Reply

